No longer available

Product number: EM00153560
Product information "VEMOD - The Deepening [BLUE/WHITE/BLACK MARBLED LP]"
LP (blue-black-white marble vinyl) incl. printed inner sleeve, poster and protection sleeve (500 copies available).

VEMOD are by no means an average band. The Norwegians exist in the liminal spaces and the crossroads of places. The trio has chiselled their sophomore full-length "The Deepening" from the same sonic granite that its predecessor "Venter på stormene" came from over a decade ago. This bedrock is found in Namsos, where VEMOD were conceived as a lifelong passion project at the turn of the century by then 12-year old Jan Even Åsli. The nearest big city is Trondheim where the fiercely individual local Nidrosian black metal scene, which refers to the city's original name, provided VEMOD with its first point of musical reference as embodied by the first demo "Kringom fjell og skog" (2004).

When the Norwegians reemerged seven years later with both the track "Moestæ Qverelæ" on a split-single and the demo "Vinterilden" in 2011, they had considerably changed. The trio had taken a step outside by strengthening elements that have already been present before: a sprinkle of the majesty reminding of early IN THE WOODS..., a dash of melancholia, and a knife tip of introvert contemplation among a wide range of emotional and vivid sonic imagery. VEMOD's musical transition finds comparable parallels in the development of French brothers-in-spirit ALCEST even though there was no direct influence flowing either way. In hindsight, the Norwegians also pioneered such currently popular styles such as blackgaze and post-black metal, although they never subscribed to either. With their debut full-length "Venter på stormene" just a year later in 2012, VEMOD opened their music to new places: A mind-blowing performance at the prestigious Beyond the Gates festival in 2013 and the legendary special show within the national treasure of the Vigeland Mausoleum at Oslo's Inferno Festival 2014 cemented VEMOD's excellent reputation even across the Atlantic.

Now, "The Deepening" arrives with a different production, which resulted in a changed overall tone compared to earlier works and the Norwegians also reached out and tapped into new stylistic strata adding further elements to their sound. Even the lyrical themes running through "The Deepening" tell of change, transience, transformation, and growth. "The Deepening" offers an opportunity to look past long held beliefs and comforting illusions. At the crossroads of VEMOD's second album at this point in space and time waits a deepening understanding of their musical world.

1. Mot oss, en ild
2. Der guder dør
3. True North Beckons
4. Fra drømmenes bok I
5. Inn i lysande natt
6. The Deepening
Artist: Vemod
Color effect: Single color
Label/Manufacturer: Prophecy Productions
Vinyl specification: Poster
Genre: Atmospheric Metal, Black Metal

Mailorder-Recommendations for you

CELTACHOR - Fiannaíocht [CD]
Jewelcase. Sons Of Morna King Of Tara Tuiren The Search For Sadbh Caoilte Great Ships Came From Over The Waves The Battle On The Shore Tears Of Aoife Cauldron Of Plenty Dubh, Dun Agus Liath


Others also bought

ARCTURUS - Aspera Hiems Symfonia [DIGIPAK CD]
CD in digipak. 1. To Thou Who Dwellest In The Night 2. Wintry Grey 3. Whence & Whither Goest The Wind 4. Raudt Og Svart 5. The Bodkin & The Quietus (...To Reach The Stars) 6. Du Nordavind 7. Fall Of Man 8. Naar Kulda Tar (Frostnettenes Prolog)

VEMOD - Venter På Stormene [CRYSTAL CLEAR LP]
Crystal clear vinyl. Over jord, vandrende 1. Venter På Stormene 2.Ikledd Evighetens Kappe Over himmel, flammende 3. Altets Tempel 4. Å Stige Blant Stjerner

MOTOROWL - This House has no Center [ORANGE/BLACK LP]
SCR exclusive orange/black marbled vinyl in heavy cover with lyrics insert, limited to 100 handnumbered copies. The new MOTOROWL album “This House has no Center” is a grower, combining dark occult hard rock with blends of doom metal and even progressive rock. Lyrically, it´s a house without a center, a room without an end. This concept can be felt in every part of the album. “This House has no Center” marks a furious ride through the fields of gloomy prog rock. Track listing: 1. The Night 2. All Bells Ring 3. Lie To The Creator 4. Fences 5. Future Nostalgia 6. Lightweight Champion 7. Clean Passage 8. Hundelbude 9. No Center 10. Forever Box